The history of the Sacred Heart Parish in Sandringham extends back more than 100 years.  A collection of houses known as Gypsy Village was part of the vast Brighton Mission on the southern outskirts of Melbourne.  The pioneers’ Gypsy Village evolved into the suburb of Sandringham and a small band of Catholics founded and fostered the parish of Sacred Heart.

The original Sacred Heart church was blessed by Archbishop Carr on 18 March 1906.  Sacred Heart was initially a part of St James Parish Elsternwick until Sacred Heart became a Parish in its own right in 1914 under the care of Fr William B Mangan. The present church was opened and blessed by Bishop John A Kelly on 15 August 1974 when Rev J A Scarborough was Parish Priest.  The building underwent a major renovation in 2010 and its beautiful new glass doors and windows were blessed on 28 November 2010.  Fr Frank O'Loughlin was appointed Parish Priest in October 1996.  In August 2020, Fr Frank O'Loughlin retired and Sacred Heart Parish joined neghbouring parishes to form Bayside Catholic Mission with Frs David Cartwright and Dean Mathieson the Priests in solidum.

There are two excellent books that recount in detail the fascinating history of the Sacred Heart Parish.  First, Gay Monahan wrote "75 Years" as part of the Parish's 75th Anniversary celebrations.  Then, for the centenary celebrations of the Sacred Heart church, Kristin Allen wrote "The Mustard Seed by the Sea".  These books can be downloaded by clicking on the covers below.

Sacred Heart Parish Sandringham 75 Years The Mustard Seed by the Sea